Main Content


< Back to Expand Your Workforce

Find out more about the different types of apprenticeship available, as well as alternative routes such as traineeships, T Levels and the government's new Kickstart Scheme for 16 to-24-year-olds.

Who can apply for an apprenticeship?

Anyone living in England, over 16-years-old and not in full-time education can apply for an apprenticeship vacancy. Regardless of whether someone is working, or not working, they can apply for an apprenticeship vacancy. An employer might choose to create an apprenticeship vacancy if they have a need for new skills in their business. Existing employees could also apply for this apprenticeship job.

What are the different types of apprenticeship?

There are over 200 different types of apprenticeship available (sometimes referred to as "frameworks" or "standards") as well as different levels:

  • Intermediate level apprenticeships
  • Advanced level apprenticeships
  • Higher apprenticeships
  • Degree apprenticeships

Depending on the sector and job role, an apprenticeship can take anything from one to four years to complete.

National Apprenticeship Service

The National Apprenticeship Service (NAS) will provide support to help employers take on an apprentice from initial interest, through to the selection of a training provider and the recruitment and progression of an apprentice. Employers who are interested in taking on an apprentice, or finding out more, are encouraged to contact the National Apprenticeship Service on 08000 150 600.

Employers can also head over to the website and advertise their apprenticeship vacancies through the National Apprenticeship Service.

New Apprenticeship Standards

The current apprenticeship Framework is changing and new standards, developed by employers and reflecting job roles, will eventually replace all current frameworks. Some new standards are already available. To read a bit more on this, click here.

How to register for the apprenticeship service as an employer

Registering an account on the apprenticeship service - YouTube

Reserving apprenticeship funds - YouTube


What are traineeships?

Including a work placement, traineeships are designed to develop the skills of an individual and can last anywhere between six weeks and 12 months.

To find out more about traineeships, email the National Apprenticeship Service at or call 0800 015 0600 for advice and support. You can also visit the website for further information. 

What are T Levels?

T Levels are a new kind of vocational qualification aimed at developing technical skills, to be taken after a young person has finished their GCSEs. A level three qualification, they are the same level as A Levels, and will replace the current level of vocational qualifications including BTEC level three certificates and diplomas. Like A Levels and BTEC qualifications, T Levels will take two years to complete, and will bring together classroom study with a work placement to ensure students have the skills they need to enter the workforce after Sixth Form. 

To find out more about T Levels, call the Industry Placement Hotline on 08000 150 600 (choose option 4) or email

Kickstart Scheme

The new Kickstart Scheme provides funding to employers to create job placements for 16 to 24-year-olds. Part of the government's Plan for Jobs, these placements are six months long and are designed to create job opportunities for young people on Universal Credit that are susceptible to long-term unemployment. 

For more information on the Kickstart Scheme, visit the website.

If you're an employer interested in finding out more about the Kickstart Scheme, contact the Department for Work and Pensions employer dedicated support here.

If you're an employer and you'd like to take on fewer than 30 Kickstart placements, find an organisation to support you here.


Share it